‘Horns QB McCoy Receives Davey O’Brien Award

This week, Texas QB Colt McCoy was finally presented with the 2009 Davey O’Brien Award, given to the nation’s best quarterback.

While the award winner was announced in December, McCoy traveled to Fort Worth with Texas football coach Mack Brown to receive the award at an awards banquet featuring former quarterbacks Dan Fouts, Troy Aikman, Roger Staubach, Jim McMahon, Charlie Ward, Brad Banks, and Jim McPherson.

McCoy, as quoted on MackBrown-TexasFootball, would say about the award, “It’s such an honor to even be mentioned with the quarterbacks who have won this award. To win an award in the state of Texas, an award that Vince (Young) won and honors the legacy of Davey O’Brien, it makes it that much more special. I’m truly humbled, and I wouldn’t be here without coach Brown, the coaching staff and my teammates.”

McCoy is the third Longhorn to win the award, following quarterback Vince Young (2005), and running back Earl Campbell, who won the award in 1997 when it was awarded to the best player in the Southwest.


Leave a comment

Filed under Big 12, Longhorns, NCAA Football

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s